She’s Too Pretty to Burn by Wendy Heard: ARC Book Review

This is a spoiler-free review.

She’s Too Pretty to Burn by Wendy Heard

Expected publication March 30th, 2021 by Dreamscape Media.

My rating:

 Inspired by The Picture of Dorian Gray, this sexy psychological thriller explores the intersections of love, art, power and violence. For fans of E. Lockhart, Lauren Oliver and Kara Thomas.

The summer is winding down in San Diego. Veronica is bored, caustically charismatic, and uninspired in her photography. Nico is insatiable, subversive, and obsessed with chaotic performance art. They’re artists first, best friends second. But that was before Mick. Delicate, lonely, magnetic Mick: the perfect subject, and Veronica’s dream girl. The days are long and hot—full of adventure—and soon they are falling in love. Falling so hard, they never imagine what comes next.

One fire. Two murders. Three drowning bodies. One suspect… one stalker. This is the summer they won’t survive.

New love spirals into lethal danger in this expertly plotted YA thriller.

Thank you to the publisher, Dreamscape Media, and NetGalley for providing me with an e-ARC of this audiobook. All thoughts are my own.

She’s Too Pretty to Burn is a really fun summer read that’s equal parts nail-biting as it is thrilling! It was so easy to get swept up with these characters and the whirlwind of a summer they themselves had. ☀️ I felt like reading from the perspectives of both Mick and Veronica really helped move the story along and kept me at the edge of my seat.

Yet, as exciting as Mick and Veronica’s spontaneously passionate romance was, there was something dark and foreboding about it too. While their relationship became more turbulent and all three characters began to act more impulsive and unpredictable, a lingering sense of unease kept growing that was impossible to shake and gripped me wholely until the very end.

And speaking of that ending? WHAT. A. TWIST! 😱

I almost wish there was more to the story – I would have loved to have seen what happened next after that reveal! But it was definitely more chilling that things weren’t tied up oh-so-neatly at the end, but instead you, as the reader, were left to wonder what the future might hold for these characters…

I really enjoyed following Mick and Veronica as they got themselves tangled up in more and more dangerous activities. Yes, they were a little unlikeable at one point or another, even while having good intentions – Veronica especially – but that was obviously the point. In She’s Too Pretty to Burn complicated characters and toxic behaviours are taken to the extreme.

I think this book is a good recommendation for readers looking for a wild ride set against an idyllic summer backdrop. With morally gray characters who have realistic flaws thrown into totally unrealistic situations. She’s Too Pretty to Burn is, above all else, a darkly entertaining book that’s almost impossible to put down.

Have you read She’s Too Pretty to Burn?

What did you think of it?

Let me know!

2 thoughts on “She’s Too Pretty to Burn by Wendy Heard: ARC Book Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s